Chicago, my love

I always dreaded cleaning out my bedroom, but it has slowly transformed into a reminiscing adventure. You never know what old things you will find. I stumbled upon letters, papers, pamphlets from the past. I flipped through the glossy booklets given to me by all the hospitals I interviewed at as a fresh college new graduate.

As I flipped through more papers stuffed in secret places collecting dust, I was reminded of how excited I was at the thought of starting a new job, in a new place, with new people. Out with the old, in with the new they say. There was something novel about a new life in NYC, a new life in Charlottesville that became so addicting. Obsessed over the thought of a new life I forgot about the wonderful city I call home. Thinking about it a year later, I am glad I did not move. I told my good friend if I ever talk about moving again she should tell me I am crazy. I say that with good reason. Some people grow up in a town, and leave as soon as they can. Maybe that is after college they leave for their new job, or even earlier they leave for college never to come back. The longer I reside in Chicago the more I realize that this place is truly for me. Right now I cannot think of any other place I would rather be.

904699_1893610297503_789844261_o

Top 5 Reasons Why I Love Chicago

  1. Public Transportation – Chicago is easily accessible via public transportation. This cannot be said for a lot of cities out there.
  2. Museums – Chicago has a lot of fabulous museums. My theory is because it gets so cold in the winter time there needs to be indoor activities to attract all the tourists and non-tourists like me.
  3. Neighborhoods – All throughout Chicago are cultural hubs ranging from Chinatown to Greektown with one of a kind cuisines in each neighborhood. Did I also mention each neighborhood throws their own summer festival? Nothing says summer like outdoor street festivals!
  4. Cleanliness – Compared to other urban cities of its size, Chicago is relatively clean. My friends from out of town are usually shocked as to how clean Chicago is. I guess compared to NYC, Chicago seems glistening clean.
  5. Friendliness – I would like to think Midwestern friendliness exists even in Chicago which is not your typical Midwestern town.

478414_1903775151618_832580898_o

There are so many more things that make Chicago such a great city. Now I realize it is not about novelty, because that fades away with time. The small town charm of Chartolottesville I found to be so cute will get old quite quickly. The energetic hustle and bustle of NYC will get suffocating and chaotic after a while. It is about comfort, about a sense of belonging that a city holds the people, the places, the things that I love and have grown to truly appreciate.

Leave a Reply

