Hello Fall, Goodbye Summer

Hello WordPress viewers! It’s been a while since I wrote a new post for foodifyme. Please excuse my month long hiatus away from my beloved blog. With the changing of seasons, there also has been a lot of new changes for me: last minute travels to the east coast, meeting new friends, reconnecting with old ones, and most importantly scoring an array of job offers. It’s stressful not having any job offers, but it is also quite stressful when there are too many. At the end of the day I chose to stick around Chicago, stick around to the city I call home. Though I truly loved the beauty and the small town feel of Charlottesville and the attraction of NYC, I just couldn’t do it. I couldn’t leave the city I grew up in, the city I have yet to fully explore and live in. All of a sudden things got very real, as if they weren’t real before. To many more years of food adventures in Chicago!

Check out my food highlights from the last month.

Monticello – Charlottesville, Virginia

I made a small trip to Charlottesville, Virginia for an interview and to visit my very good friend from college. Growing up in Chicago and going to school in DC, I am definitely not use to small towns. Surprisingly, I loved Charlottesville! There was something so calming and soothing about being surrounded by miles and miles of trees and mountains in the distance. Here I am on the highest point at Monticello, Thomas Jefferson’s retirement home after his presidency. I felt like I was on top of the world!

Monticello, Thomas Jefferson’s retirement home

My friend and I were driving on the road, when Sweet Disposition by the Temper Traps came on. Perfect song for cruising through beautiful Charlottesville.

Fry’s Spring Station – Charlottesville, Virginia

Mushroom Pizza

My friends who live in Charlottesville took me to Fry’s Spring Station for happy hour pizza. All pizzas, cocktails, and beers were half off. What could be better! I got the mushroom pizza. The mushrooms and cheese tasted very fresh! I loved pizza dough, thin yet still chewy and crunchy.

Clyde’s – Georgetown, Washington, D.C.

Corned beef hash with sunny side up eggs

Since Charlottesville was simply a 3 hour bus ride away from DC, I made a quick weekend stop in DC. My college roommate and I ate late brunch at Clyde’s in Georgetown. Brunch is my favorite meal of the day! You can never go wrong with eggs especially with runny yolks. I loved the combination of liquid yolk over starchy foods like potato hash. A perfect meal to start the day even though we ate brunch at 3PM. oops!

The Bongo Room – South Loop, Chicago

I have been meaning to try out The Bongo Room for a while. It is known for having one of the best brunches in Chicago. They only serve the Chocolate French Toast Tower on the weekends, so I came with a friend on a Sunday. This rich, chocolatey dish is extremely heavy. The bittersweet chocolate chunk bread stuffed with maple mascarpone was topped with a banana creme brulee sauce, bananas, and shaved chocolate. Dessert for breakfast? Bring it on! This was definitely too much for one person to eat alone, so my friend and I shared this along with another brunch dish.

Ming Hin Cuisine – Chinatown, Chicago

Cage Free Chicken Hot Pot Casserole

I came here to eat with my family. It was my first time trying this new restaurant in Chinatown, and it was excellent. The food was good, and surprisingly so was the service. When you go to authentic Chinese restaurants, you do not expect good service. You go for the food, and not the atmosphere or the service. Ming Hin offered all of that. A beautifully decorated dining area, friendly and attentive service, and authentic, delicious Chinese food.

the interior of the restaurant

toothpick in a pouch

I thought this was really great. I have never seen a toothpick packaged in a pouch before. How classy!

Leave a Reply

