Foodify Me Chicago!

Here are some of the Chicago food adventures I have been on since I got back home.

Smoque – Irving Park

Sliced brisket sandwich platter

I came here about two years ago with my friends after hearing about it on Food Network’s show Diners, Drive-Ins, and Dives. The show talked about how this BBQ joint was started by BBQ enthusiasts who quit their office jobs to live their dream of cooking BBQ everyday. After two years of being Smoque-less I had to go back from some delicious BBQ. Best decision ever! I came here with my family. My sister and I shared a sliced brisket sandwich with sampling of their St. Louis Ribs and brisket chili, mac and cheese, and cole slaw for sides. The advertise that their brisket has BBQed for over 14 hours, and you can actually taste the difference. The brisket is tender while still retaining all of the flavors of the BBQ rub. The ribs were excellent. Best ribs I have ever tasted! The meat fell of the bone and was moist, tender, and flavorful. Next time I’m getting a rack of ribs to eat! My favorite side was the cole slaw. After a heavy meal there is nothing better than the refreshing taste of a vinaigrette based cole slaw.

 Halo Asian Mix – The Loop

happy hour special – Adobo Chicken

I came here with my friend who wanted to try out the Asian cafe in the Loop. She is a really big fan of Filipino food, and this place offered just that and other Asian foods as well. We got there right in time for the happy hour special. $3.50 for all of this. Right in the Loop too! We took our happy hour specials and sat in Millennium Park for a nice picnic. The Adobo Chicken was tasty. It was well marinated, and the sauce that drizzled onto the rice was just great! I added some Sriracha sauce for a spicy kick.

Piece Pizzeria – Wicker Park

I have reviewed this place before. My Piece Brewery and Pizzeria review. I had to write a little blurb about Piece, because their service was just excellent. My friend and I came here, and we ordered the BBQ Chicken and White with Clams lunch special pizzas. Our waiter arrived with our pizzas, but found out that they made the white pizza with chicken and not with clams. She gave us the white with chicken pizza, and told us we could munch on it while they make our white with clams.  So in total we had 3 pizzas: BBQ Chicken, White with Clams, and White with Chicken. When our bill came out we saw that we were only charged for one pizza. They labeled our White with Clams pizzas as “goodwill”, and gave it to us on the house. This was especially nice of them to do! 3 pizzas for the price of 1. Cannot be beat!

McCormick and Schmick’s – Near North Side

We went to McCormick and Schmick’s for happy hour. I got this tequila based drink that was just so refreshing. Mixed inside were tequila, agave nectar, and grapefruit juice with pulp. I loved it!

We got some appetizers to share. Fish and Chips, Sweet Potato Fries, and a Fish Taco. They have the best sweet potato fries ever. It is battered and crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside. The thing that made the sweet potato fries so good is that white, garlic and mayonnaise based dipping sauce. I would dip everything I eat in this sauce, because it is just that good!

Happy Summering Chicago-ians and non-Chicago-ians!

Buckingham Fountain

One thought on “Foodify Me Chicago!

  1. Sweet Chi Town says:

    Smoque is absolutely amazing!

Leave a Reply

