Being Irish for the Day

Yesterday was St. Patrick’s Day. Happy Belated St. Patrick’s Day. I picked up cabbage, carrot, potato, and corned beef to make the classic corned beef and vegetables. Corned beef gets its name from the treatment of the meat with “corns” of salt. Someone told me that corned beef gets its name, because the cows were fed with corn rather than other animal feeds. That’s what I’ve been telling my friends trying to impress them with my vast food knowledge. Boy was I wrong…

Here are the quick and dirty instructions on how I prepared my St. Patrick’s Day meal.

St. Patrick's Day Dinner

Instructions

The corned beef came in plastic package. I opened it, and poured its contents along with its seasoned juices into a pot. I poured in chicken stock till the corned beef slab was immersed in liquid. The instructions told me that for ever lbs of corned beef you were suppose to cook it for 50 minutes. My corned beef was 2 lbs, so thus 1 hr and 40 minutes for my corned beef goodness. I turned down the heat, so that it was simmering.

Once the corned beef was done I took it out, and added in my vegetables. I didn’t want my corned beef to overcook, so by taking it out and then cooking my vegetables it allowed for good control of the cooking times of each. I added in the potatoes first, then the carrots, and lastly the cabbage. Cabbage cooks fairly quickly, so it is important to add it in last so as to not to overcook it. I like my potatoes a little crispy, so I took them out before adding in the carrots and cabbage and pan fried them.

To make the sauce I reduced the chicken broth that has been cooking with the corned beef and the vegetables till it was about half the volume.  To reduce simply put the heat on medium or high with the lid off, and let the liquid evaporate to have a thicker and denser sauce. I added in some flour to make the liquid thicker. And ta-da instant sauce to pair with the corned beef and vegetables.

The vegetables came out perfectly, but unfortunately the corned beef was a little rough. I think if I had used a crock pot or cooked it over lower heat for a longer period of time it would have been more tender.

we take our food seriously

Hope all of you had a wonderful St. Patrick’s Day. Filled with green, with Guiness, with day glowing.

Leave a Reply

