Spice Island Tea House

My friend Rekha was really excited about taking me here. She warned me that it looked like a hole in the wall from the outside, but is super cute and quaint on the inside.

Spice Island Tea House 

253 Atwood St
Pittsburgh, PA 15213
Neighborhood: Oakland

Check out their Menu

the inside of the restaurant

The inside of the restaurant was a pleasant surprise. The curtains surrounding the entrance were a beautiful red color that perfectly fit in with the rest of the room. Moody lighting with wooden floors and red toned chairs made it feel like I was in somebody’s home. It had a very home-y feeling which I thoroughly enjoyed.

The place was super packed. We had to wait about 10 minutes for a table, but that was not a problem. The wait was definitely worth it. I wouldn’t come here in a large group though, without a reservation, because there is such limited seating it would take forever.

Spicy Laht Nah

Spicy Laht Nah – Minced chicken, shredded vegetables and jalapeno pepper stir-fried in a tangy gravy and glazed over broad rice noodles.

I got the Spicy Laht Nah noodles. It was really good. All of the rice noodles are at the bottom of the dish, so it is hard to see them in the picture above. The noodles were soft, but slightly crispy from being pan fried. The vegetables were extremely fresh. The crunchiness of the green beans and broccoli were great. I loved the spicy sauce that came with this dish. It was salty, spicy, and flavorful.

I really enjoyed this place. I felt like I was eating in somebody’s dining room. A carefree, comfort that just felt natural.

Stars – 4.5/5

Leave a Reply

