Cafe Milano

Restaurant week lunch at Cafe Milano with my friend who just recently turned 21+1. Soo and I decided to go check out Cafe Milano for her birthday lunch.

Cafe Milano 

3251 Prospect St NW
Washington, DC 20007

outside of Cafe Milano

Cafe Milano is an Italian restaurant in Georgetown, Washington, DC. When we arrived the place was pretty packed. Perhaps because it was restaurant week. With restaurant week participating restaurants offer 3 course lunches and dinners for discounted prices. For lunch it is $20.12 and dinner is $35.12. I really like going to participating restaurants for lunch, because it is much more affordable for a college student budget. Plus sometime dinner portions just over stuff me, and I leave feeling bloated and food coma-ed.

Butternut squash soup puree

For first course I got Butternut Squash Soup Puree with Crumbled Amaretti and Mascarpone Cheese Crostini. This was my favorite part of the meal. I was afraid the soup would be too thin, but it was exactly the right texture. The crostini added a nice touch to the soup. It was crispy yet soggy from sitting in the soup. Perfect texture. I personally am a huge fan of soups, and this is one soup that was spot on.

Baby Arugula and Heart of Palm Salad

Soo got the Baby Arugula and Heart of Palm Salad with Fig Vincotto. She said that it tasted really fresh. It looked super fresh as well!

Parma Prosciutto and Ricotta Cheese Ravioli

For the second course I got the Homemade Parma Prosciutto and Ricotta Cheese Ravioli in a Lemon Sage Sauce. This dish came out too salty for my taste. I think it might have been a combination of the saltiness in the prosciutto and the cheese. The actual pasta part of the ravioli was really good though. Not too soft. Not too hard.

Egg and Spinach Fettucine Pasta in a Veal and Bolognese Sauce

Soo got the Homemade Egg and Spinach Fettucine Pasta in a Veal and San Marzano Bolognese Sauce. I got to taste it, and it was bursting with flavors and colors. Love a dish that is appealing to the eyes.

Cheesecake

Finally dessert time. I got the Italian Nutella and Espresso Ricotta Cheesecake Garnished with Whipped Cream. I personally am not a huge fan of cheesecake, but there were only two choices for dessert neither which I am huge fans of: tiramisu and cheesecake. This cheesecake sounded interesting, and it was good. The ricotta cheese was so creamy without being too heavy. I really liked the cookie,cracker like bottom.

Tiramisu

Soo got the tiramisu. Classic tiramisu composed of mascarpone cheese with marsala and ladyfingers soaked in espresso. The tiramisu tasted good. By the end of the meal we could barely finish our dessert. Fully stuffed and satisfied.

look at the spoon!

Cafe Milano has funny spoons. It is like a spork but without the prongs at the end.

Overall this place was pretty good. I really like the atmosphere of the inside. A chic, sleek Italian restaurant. My only complaint is their complimentary bread. The bread was very hard. I could barely bite into the sides. Hard not in a stale way, but in a purposeful way I suppose. Other than that Cafe Milano was great!

Stars – 4/5

One thought on “Cafe Milano

  1. amadeus98 says:

    These look delicious 😀

Leave a Reply

