Piece Brewery & Pizzeria

My friend told me that this place had the best pizza in Chicago. Pizza being one of my favorite foods I had to check this place out. Located in Wicker Park a neighborhood known for its unique assortment of consignment stores and restaurants and an exciting night life. Best pizza in Chicago? I would agree. Probably one of the best I have ever had!

Piece Brewery & Pizzeria

1927 W North Ave
Chicago, IL 60622

Menu – http://www.piecechicago.com/pizza/

Personally I am not a big fan of the classic Chicago style deep dish pizza despite being a Chicago native. Too much cheese. Too stuffed. Too rich for my taste. I prefer the thin crust New York style pizza much better. I remember having a conversation with a friend who is NYC native about which city’s pizza is better. Of course with all my Chicago pride I say that Chicago style pizza is better despite my actual preference. Shhh… she doesn’t have to know. Maybe that is why I really like Piece Brewery & Pizzeria. The pizzas are thin and crispy loaded with toppings. Classic New York style thin crust.

inside of Piece

I have been meaning to check this place out for a while, and what better time than now when I can take my friend around Wicker Park and stop in for some pizza. We get inside, and the place is as cool as the neighborhood itself. It is a big open room with arched wooded ceilings that create contrasting shadows in the sunlight. We came in around 2PM on Saturday, and the place is pretty packed. A lot of young people perhaps around their 20s, younger 30s, and a couple groups of families eating.

We arrived in time for their lunch special that ends at 5PM. $5.95 for a personal pizza with 1 topping. Choice of topping and choice of pizza style. You can choose what kind of pizza style you want. There is red, plain, and white.

Red – traditional tomato sauce and mozzarella pizza (BBQ sauce also available)

Plain – traditional New Haven pizza, a generous amount of red sauce topped with garlic, extra parmesan and olive oil (This pizza does not have mozzarella.)

White – plain crust brushed with olive oil, diced garlic and mozzarella cheese

Toppings include – spinach, jalapenos, black olives, anchovies, onions, green peppers, garlic, banana peppers, BBQ sauce, fresh tomatoes, roasted red peppers, sautéed mushrooms, Italian sausage, mashed potatoes, artichoke hearts, fresh basil, bacon, clams, pepperoni, meatballs, chicken, broccoli, ricotta cheese

For a personal pizza that is pretty large the lunch deal is totally worth it. Plus you get to pick whatever topping and style you want. I was surprised the lunch special applied to weekends as well. I know a lot of places have lunch specials, but that only applies for weekdays. After reading yelp reviews people raved about the White with Clams and Red with Mashed Potatoes. We decided to go with those two.

White with Clams

with my favorite pizza! the White with Clams

You know when the pizza is too hot to eat, but you eat it anyways and just suffer with minor burns on the roof of your mouth. Well that was me today. The white with clams was my favorite! The combination of white style pizza with no red sauce and clams was perfect! This pizza just worked. If you are going to try Piece make sure to get this combination. There was just the right amount of cheese to make this pizza cheesy. The saltiness and chewiness of the clams went really well with the crust that soaked in all of the juices from above resulting in a slightly soggy but still crunchy crust. My favorite!

Red with Mashed Potatoes

I know you must be thinking mashed potatoes as a topping? Really? Yes really. Red pizza with mashed potatoes. The mashed potatoes was an interesting topping, but it also just worked. The mashed potatoes were slightly crunchy on the top perhaps from the pizza oven. It seemed to soak in some of that pizza grease and juices adding a really nice creamy, soft texture to the pizza.

Overall I really liked both of the pizzas, but if I had to pick one the white with clams would be the winner. My friend also agreed. The service was fast. The waiter was attentive. Most importantly the pizza here is really good. Very fresh, very thin, extra crunchy, extra cheesy, and just plain delicious.

Siri says Piece is #1

Look even Siri agrees with me.

Stars – 5/5

2 thoughts on “Piece Brewery & Pizzeria

  1. David says:

    I’ll have to get the white with clams next time I go 🙂

  2. […] have reviewed this place before. My Piece Brewery and Pizzeria review. I had to write a little blurb about Piece, because their service was just excellent. My friend and […]

Leave a Reply

