Rodan

Rodan an asian fusion bar/lounge located in Wicker Park. I have been here twice. Once after a Secret Santa event, and then again on NYE.

Rodan

1530 N Milwaukee Ave
Chicago, IL 60622

The drinks here are unique. The cocktails on their menu are all Asian inspired. Lychee martinins, ginger hibiscus margaritas, and the list goes on. Check out the inspiring cocktail menu right here.

http://rodanchicago.com/default/?page_id=100

I have tried both the Lychee Martini and the Horse Feathers, and both of them were delicious. The Lychee Martini was great. The infusion of lychee juices really added a perfect sweetness to the martini.

Lychee Martini – vodka, lychee juice, pineapple juice, lychee fruit

Horse Feathers for NYE with Rekha

Cocktail - Horse Feathers

My favorite would be the Horse Feathers. One of my all time favorite drinks. In it is Jim Beam Rye whiskey and gingerbeer. I never had gingerbeer before, but boy do I love it. I usually don’t like beer, but gingerbeer is special. Has a zingy, spicy kick to it. The mix of the whiskey, lemon, gingerbeer, and angostura bitters together in one cocktail is quite something. Seems simple enough to make. Perhaps I will try making it myself one day.

Horse Feathers – jim beam rye, fresh lemon, gingerbeer, angostura bitters

the sleek interior of Rodan - taken from yelp

The drinks are delicious. The atmosphere is amazing. The very dim lighting. Simple and modern decor with a projection screen against the back wall screening black and white videos. The entire inside screams hipster-ville. There are booths to the left and couch seating on the right. The waiters are sharply dressed in black. One with a mad bushy beard, another with a bowl cut haircut. The people in the bar were stylish and chic. They looked like they were in their upper 20s. A very chill, carefree interior.

I want to make this my go to place. You know in How I Met Your Mother where they all head to that one bar and laugh and talk about their lives? I want Rodan to be the one for me.

Stars – 5/5

Leave a Reply

