Grand Palace

A Chinese restaurant with a food based atmosphere. You go here for the food, not the experience. Well that’s nothing new for a Chinese restaurant, but the food is just SO good at this new favorite hole in the wall.

Grand Palace

225 W 26th St
Chicago, IL 60616

I came here with my family. My dad has ordered me Chinese takeout from this place before. He has been raving about how great this place is when they dined here while I was away for school. Finally time to try this place out for myself!

I was originally quite skeptical of this place. It is on the outskirts of Chicago Chinatown. Not on Wentworth Street. Not in Chinatown Square. It is located right across from Ricobene’s Pizza away from the rest of the Chinese restaurants. There was a small parking lot which was good. It is always really hard to find parking in Chinatown. We walked in, and they were quite busy. It might have to do with their small dining area that makes it seem as if they are really busy. There were probably 4 big round tables and 3 small square tables in the dining area. Conny once told me that restaurants purposely make their restaurant small, so that it seems like they are always bustling. That makes a lot of sense to me. If the area is smaller people walking by would see that the place if packed and think that if it is that busy it must be really good. Well this place was packed, but for a good reason.

We walked in and was immediately seated at one of the smaller square tables. A little squished for 5 people, but we weren’t complaining. We placed our order with the waiter and waited while sipping our tea. As I watched the staff hustle and bustle around the restaurant my dad told me it was a family owned restaurant. I could tell. There was the mother who acted as the main person, seating guests, waitering, ringing people’s orders up, and everything else. She was quite the lady! Energetic, friendly, and efficient. Then who looked like the children, high school aged brother and sister, who would also help with the waitering. At first I saw the daughter, and then the daughter disappeared and the brother came in. I guess the daughter got tired, so the brother came into help. Last but not least there was also an older lady, perhaps the grandmother, who also helped with the waitering. A real family run restaurant with three generations worth of family helping out.

Fried Tofu Casserole with Seafood

Salt & Pepper Soft Shell Crab

Steamed Ground Pork with Salted Fish

Stir Fried Vegetables with Squid

Sorry about some of the half eaten plates of food. I totally forgot to take a picture until my parents reminded me. Guess I was too excited about the food!

Now onto the food! We ordered the Fried Tofu Casserole, Salt & Pepper Soft Shelled Crab, Steamed Ground Pork with Salted Fish, and Stir Fried Vegetables with Squid. All of the dishes were so delicious! They tasted really authentic and full of flavor! My favorite was the Stir Fried Vegetables with Squid. I don’t know what is the exact translation. They didn’t have this dish in their English menu, but my dad knew to order this because it is one of their specialties. Everything was really delicious! You can tell a Chinese restaurant is authentic when you see the Chinese elderly dining here. They know what is good in terms of true Chinese food, and this place was exceptional.

my sister eating an orange

They even gave us oranges at the end. YUM! Here is my sister eating an orange.

the owner of the restaurant ringing up my dad

A no frill kind of place. Come here for the good food, and you will know what I am talking about. Here is a picture I snapped of the wife of the couple who owns the restaurant. She is ringing up my dad. Our meal for my family of 5 totaled up to about $40 which is really good! We were all satisfied and delightfully filled.

Stars – 4/5

Leave a Reply

