Tabard Inn

I went here with my dear friend Soo one weekday night. I have heard so many good things about this place and finally decided to go check out the bar.

Tabard Inn 

1739 N St NW
Washington, DC 20036

Upon walking in it was as if I walked into somebody’s house in Dupont Circle. The interior is very warm and welcoming with a wooden theme. It was as if I stumbled upon another speakeasy styled bar. A secret place in the metropolitan area of Dupont Circle. Shhh… don’t tell anyone.

Read my blogpost about Angel’s Share, a speakeasy in NYC – https://foodifyme.wordpress.com/2011/08/23/angels-share/

We came to Tabard Inn to try their drinks. The bar area is located between the lounge area and the restaurant seating. You can either order drinks at the bar and bring them over to lounge or order the drinks at the lounge. We ordered the drinks at the bar, because we didn’t know you could order drinks from the lounge. The bar was pretty crowded mostly with 30-something year olds, but there were also a good amount of 40-something and 50-something. Definitely an older crowd which was nice to see coming from a college campus. A classy, sophisticated lounge atmosphere.

My Cuzco Mass

I ordered the Cuzco Mass. It was a little strong for my liking. I thought it was going to be a lot sweeter than I thought with the apple cider and cranberry/cardamom syrup, but the allspice dram definitely overpowered everything. The entire cocktail tasted like allspice. Not for me. The drink was very pretty though. A red-orange, pink color with a floating dehydrated apple on the top.

Cuzco Mass –  Macchu Pisco, Apple Cider, Cranberry/Cardamom Syrup, Allspice Dram, Dehydrated Apple

Soo's Old Hickory

Soo got the Old Hickory. She also said her drink was quite strong.

Old Hickory – Dolin Dry & Dolin Rouge Vermouths, Peychaud’s Bitters, Maple Syrup, Orange Twist

Old Hickory on the left and Cuzco Mass on the right - thanks Soo for the picture

I am not such a big fan of the drinks at Tabard Inn, but the atmosphere is just perfect. Comfy couches, chairs, tables to sit and talk for hours. The dim lighting, abundance of comfy couches, and vintage furniture is what gives it a speakeasy feel. I love lounge atmospheres. They are just so conducive to catching up with friends, exchanging stories, and talking about the looming future of a college senior!

I love the atmosphere of Tabard Inn, but the drinks we got were just okay for the price we paid for the cocktails. If I go again perhaps next time my drink will be better.

Stars – 3/5 (need to try more drinks)

Leave a Reply

